To buy now or wait?

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by seraphi, Dec 1, 2007.

1. seraphi

seraphi New Member

I have been doing research on pistols for the last 4-5 months to determine what is best for me. I am pretty well set on the Steyr M40-A1

My question now is:
    Should I buy one from CDNN now while they are cheap?
    Or should I wait for the new 08 models?

I have read that the new ones will have a cool new finish on them. Are there any other changes/improvements? Fixes to existing problems? If waiting a few months and paying a bit more means I get a gun that works better and lasts longer, it would seem like this would be a good choice.
    The FTE issue worries me about this purchase too. I need something reliable.

What are your thoughts on these issues?

2. Syntax360

Syntax360 Premium Member

You should buy now and save the money. I wouldn't hold my breath on the new models - you may end up waiting longer than you think.

3. Netfotoj

Netfotoj Premium Member

The only word that Steyr has put out about the MA1 and SA1 pistols that are promised for arrival here early next year (and even that's unofficial, just responses to inquiries here at SteyrClub) is that the new pistols will have the Mannox finish. No other improvements, changes, et c. have even been hinted at.

And since they promised a new shipment of pistols twice or three times during the current year, I wouldn't bet my life on new ones arriving at any particular time.

Only one thing is for sure. The new pistols will be priced as least as high if not higher than the retail price they were going for before the company changed hands earlier this year, which is about $500.

The change in ownership is what gave CDNN the opportunity to buy most or all of the U.S. inventory of Steyr pistols and rifles at an unknown discount. But it must have been a big one as they're selling $500 pistols for $350.