Taurus 1911 reviews???

Discussion in 'Other Handguns' started by wfrost44, Apr 23, 2007.

1. wfrost44

wfrost44 Guest

Anyone have a Taurus 1911 yet? Do you like it?

I'd also appreciate it if anyone could point me to a good review of these online.

Thanks in advance.

2. SELFDEFENSE

SELFDEFENSE Premium Member

3. aubie515

aubie515 Premium Member

I am by no means an expert on the 1911s, that being said I own a PT1911. I carry the pistol most of the time in an IWB holster. I am only 5'8", but carrying that 5" pistols isn't a problem for me. The Heinie sights took a little bit to get used to because it's not the standard 3 dot sights. I really like the Heinie sights and I have heard that they are offering night sights for the PT1911. The finish on my pistol was had some wear when I bought it new in December. I didn't mind it because I was going to send it out to be refinished or do it myself.

At the range, I have been impressed with how accurate the PT1911 shoots. I never had a FTE or a FTF with this pistol. The mags that come with the pistol are alright, but I carry the MCM mags. I didn't like the plastic grips, so I changed it in favor of the Hogue rubber grips. I find this pistol to be an overall good value when I bought mine for $449. I have seen a price increase at shops from $510-570 and that is starting to get up to the SA price range.

4. SELFDEFENSE

aubie:
    How many rounds have you put thru it?

5. aubie515

aubie515 Premium Member

600 rounds so far. I shoot the PT1911 and the XD45 when at the range. Both pistols have been super reliable for me and they will be rewarded with a new finish next weekend.

6. SELFDEFENSE

7. SELFDEFENSE

BTW, why would one be in the market for a .45 and buy anything other than THE Colt .45? :shock: :? :p

8. Buzz

Buzz Premium Member