steyr prohunter vs. remington sendero sf II

Discussion in 'Other Rifles' started by Guest, Dec 27, 2006.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Anybody have any personal comparison experience. Personally I like the prohunter, but I have little experience hunting and shooting. A buddy of mine, has extensive hunting and shooting experience and he shoots a sendero 338 rum, and has many other remingtons. "Dave" used to gunsmith, and recomends actions like the steyr/ruger/sako/tika, yet shoots remingtons with the button extractor?
    Anyone else want to weigh in here?
    Prices are in the same ballpark, but availability for me is the issue. The Steyr's are hard to find other than online, and remingtons are at just about every store in town. (maybe not the sendero, but most can get it)

Thanks.....dano

2. alagator

alagator New Member

Dano, I shoot prohunters, old-style rugers, and winchesters. I like the steyrs best. No experience with remingtons. The gun rags tout the aluminum reinforced stock on the sendero. The newer steyrs have a black stock that is supposed to be a little stiffer than the old grey stocks. The steyr will probably have a better trigger, although remington triggers are easy for a gunsmith to adjust. It may come down to personal preference-- can you get your hands on a prohunter to compare the fit and feel (assuming your friend will let you play with his remington)? Will it be for hunting or targets? Do you need heavy weight for max stability off a rest in a shooting house, or does it need to be easier to carry and shoot from a treestand? I have a 26" barrel prohunter in 7mm Rem mag for long shots across open areas, and a much shorter lighter prohunter mountain 270 for treestands in the woods. The Sendero would be much more like the 7mm steyr.
    Good luck, and hope you enjoy selecting and using your new rifle. If you do decide to get the steyr, be sure it has the newer black stock-- the newer ones also have an easier bolt lift than the grey-stock models.