Steyr Price Olympics

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by broas, Sep 8, 2007.

1. broas

broas Guest

hey, i have an idea. it's pretty raw and could use a lot of refinement. or can be trashed.

just for fun, maybe we can make a small contest about whose country's gun runners or gun regulating body makes the most money. im sure a lot of the people here would like to move to or away from the country/location that wins, depending on the person.

i bet this would be difficult to work out. we will need some guidelines, ie. domestic sales only (military contracts, exports, and underground sales are not included); limited to same model Steyrs only (open to other makes and models and calibers, if you can be bothered.)

currently as i have no knowledge of the margins and volumes applied on these guns, (this study would be so much better if these were available.) let's just put the most premium on cost.

M9A1 category
    1.) New Zealand = US$1338
    2.) Uruguay = US$930
    3.) Philippines = US$818
    4.) US = US$350

as you can see, New Zealand is leading the Steyr Price Olympics.

butch_d, you have a pm. :)

2. Syntax360

Syntax360 Premium Member

Sounds like a good idea to me 8).

3. BulletBait

BulletBait New Member

Since America's BATF is known to lurk in gunsites, I doubt anyone sane has a big enough swinging pair to list illegal gun running. :wink:

However, if by underground sales you mean private sale, in America we call that Face To Face (FTF).
    It is perfectly legal in most states.
    How the political battle shakes out over the next few years will determine if it stays that way.

4. Polymer Proselyte

Polymer Proselyte New Member

5. Tweakmeister

Tweakmeister Guest

That's quite a price gap.

Many countries place heavy duties on the importation of foreign-made items, and I'm willing to bet that applies even moreso to firearms!

There are also conversion rates to consider as well.

6. posterboy7

posterboy7 New Member