Steyr noob here with a few questions

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by spartan117, Oct 18, 2007.

1. spartan117

spartan117 Guest

Just wanted to say hello and say first this site is an excellent resource. I am a DFW, TX member. I will admit I do not know a whole lot about Steyr pistols. I always liked the look and design of it. One time I read on some forum about a CHL holder talking about an incident and having to pull his Steyr pistol. I just remember people said he needed a better gun and Styer was crap but no one had basis for the reasoning. Yet I have talked to several people who I trust that just LOVE their Steyr pistols and they own many guns like Glock, Sig, etc. too.

Regardless I make up my own mind and am going to get a M9-A1 from a member on here along with some extra holsters so I am looking foward to it. I am set to pick it up tomorrow afternoon! Only had 200 rounds thru it I am told.

I have tried searching for some specific info so if I overlooked something on this site I apologize.

1. Where can I get replacement recoil springs?

2. Now what type of warranty does Steyr have? Considering I will be owner #2 it may not apply to me if there is one I guess.

3. Where is a good place to get extra mags?

4. Looking at the guide rod made BigTaco is it?

5. Any advice I need to know?

Thank you!

2. dabdaworm

dabdaworm Member

1. ??
    2. From what I understand, Steyr's new US Distributer is being VERY helpful, even if you aren't the original owner. I think I've heard of guys getting an M40 from a pawn shop and Steyr fixing broken things on it for free. Someone with actual experience with them should be able to shed more light.
    3. The best prices I've heard of for hi-cap (12 or 14/15 depending) are between $25 and $30. CDNN has them for $30 (in stock i believe).
    4. ??
    5. ??

Hope that helps somewhat.

3. Netfotoj

Netfotoj Premium Member

Welcome aboard, you won't regret becoming a Steyr owner. You're gonna love it.