Steyr M9 jamming in competition

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by d3f3nd3r, Dec 8, 2006.

1. d3f3nd3r

d3f3nd3r Guest

I'm new to IPDA, but a long time shooter. My first contact with the local IDPA club resulted in

"As for the Styre? Get a Glock, SIG or an XD. The gun you have has been prone to malfuction in competition. I can provide e-mail addresses if you need further proof."

I've been around long enough to know gun owners and their loyalties result in "Chevy vs Ford" innane arguements. But being a brand new Steyr owner I'm curious so I thought I'd open this to discussion.

My personal weapon is a M9. I've only put about 200 rounds through with 4 different factory loads. Only thing i see is occassional wierd tracterory of brass, which from Steyrclub i learned is normal. Also occassionally the slide wouldnt lock back. But nothing strange for such a young gun. It is accurate as anything I've shot, maybe more. I find the trapezoidal sights perfect intuitive for me. I never liked the Glock's sights.

Anyone care to share there competition experiences? Or why the prejudice of the Steyr locally?

Thanks, this club has been quite helpful so far.

Matt

2. I've put 1500 rounds through my M9-A1 and only had 2 FTEs. One was directly attributed to a flaw in the brass case. I have doubts to the reliability of my Steyr.

In fact, I just bought my wife a M40-A1 for her birthday this Sunday. She loves the way it feels in her hand.

3. SELFDEFENSE

SELFDEFENSE Premium Member

I have about 1,000 rounds thru my M9 with no problems and now CCW it in place of the Glocks I carried for over 7 years. Some pistols appear to have a failure to eject problem, evidently due to a weak spring as you can see in some of the FTE threads. I don't know if it is more per capita than other brands, but mine has been fine and its a great gun.
    Act based on your own experience with your own gun.

4. MrApathy

MrApathy Active Member