Slanted Scope Base for an HS-50

Discussion in 'Other Rifles' started by 50BMG, Jun 21, 2013.

1. 50BMG

50BMG New Member

Hello all,
    I'm a newbie to the club, and I did a forum search on this issue but I had no luck there...

Does anyone know where I can find a 30-60MOA slanted picatiny rail to put on top of my HS-50?

I understand that the newer HS-50's have a 20MOA slanted base on them. In fact, I may be the person who is responsible for getting Steyr to put the slanted rail on the HS-50 in the first place (it's a long story). But, my rifle is an earlier serial number, so it just has the useless, too-low, straight rail on it now.

I do have some Ivey adjustable rings that I could fix to a 60MOA angle, but I like the durability factor of the rail having the slant machined into it instead of the possible failure, which of course would happen at the WORST time, with the adjustable type of rings. In fairness to Mike, the Ivey rings ARE neat though, and they definitely work as advertised...

Thanks ahead of time,

Pat

:cheers:

2. Waltherfan01

Waltherfan01 New Member

Hi 50BMG, welcome to the club! I have no answer to your question, but I like your location pun :thumbsup:

3. Sigma05

Sigma05 Member

Steyr USA sells a 20 MOA Picatinny Rail. I also use a 30 MOA LaRue scope mount made specifically for the 50 Cal. That should get you up to 50. Many manufacturers sell angled Picatinny rails that you can have installed. Spuhr makes scope mounts at many different angles with many different options (levels). They even make some with custom angles under request. Contact Hakan Spuhr and ask him what he can make for you.

"Ex Umbris Venimus"

Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
  4. SR SG)*

SR SG)* New Member

Pat and Sigma05, it sounds like you're ahead of me re. the question I posted below to "Bubit"

"Default Assistance with setting up SG08 .338 re moa available after bore sighting
    I'm new to your site today and would appreciate advice on the following -