Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen.

I am new to Steyr ownership and so far my enthusiasm was kind of held back by some annoying trigger issues.
My gun is a low round count M9-A1 that I just purchased used last weekend.

I stripped Ms. Steyr's frame down to every pin, cleaned it, reassembled it and mounted it to the slide by itself (no grip).
The way mine malfunctions, is that when I leave my finger on the trigger while the gun cycles it doesn't reset right. A subsequent trigger pull will yield no result.
In the fully assembled gun, I can make her shoot in two ways. Either pull the trigger forward farther, or slap the grip as if I was inserting a magazine.
Then she will go *click* as expected.
With the grip removed, I can see that the "catch" doesn't come all the way forward. If I push it 1/32" or so, the trigger pull will result in a *click*.
Will tinker with it some more tonight, although I would appreciate advise.

It appears to me, that the only thing pulling the "catch" forward is the trigger bar through the trigger spring with a little assistance of spring 12. If that's the case, how can I improve that without sacrificing trigger feel?!?

:wall:

·
Premium Member
2,473 Posts
First question, have you read the Big Taco tutorial on trigger reset? If not, got to downloads on this site and get it. Second, have you checked the position of the springs 12 &13 to make sure they aren't flipped. Third, check the spring in the trigger to make sure it's installed properly. Fourth, have you checked the pins holding the sear and post to make sure that, 1, the rounded ends point toward the trigger bar, 2, that they aren't protruding into the trigger bar space. The latter will cause reset problems, ask me how I know...