Steyr Club Forums banner

Range report for my new Steyr M9... problems, questions

6K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  ETH77 
#1 ·
Let me start off by saying that my inexperience and novice level will definitely show with this range report :D ... but in the interest of learning, both for the benefit of myself and other newbies, I'm hoping that useful info and answers are generated. Yep, I'm dumb and new. ;)

My background is in .22's and 12 gauges, and that's about it. I owned a .357 revolver years ago, but really didn't get much experience and had zilch training in handguns (used to go out shooting targets with a buddy of mine). Safe to say any serious firearm experience I possess is with 12g hunting, and sporting clays. This is my first semi-auto, and although I've been shooting Glocks at the range this last year, my only real training is limited to my CCW class. I've pretty much been on my own, with the occasional question getting answered at the range/shop. I hope I will get more real training, but surprisingly it's not easy to find an opening with one of the few instructors in the area as they're usually tied up with training LEO's or experienced shooters. Also, I'm new to the area, and I just don't know any other handgun owners, and they're not easy to meet at the range, pretty much everyone rushes-in/rush-out. So, hopefully this will explain a lot, including my questions.