Picked up my M40A1 last night - many problems

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by seraphi, Dec 7, 2007.

1. seraphi

seraphi New Member

I was so excited to get my new M40A1 from CDNN last night! I picked it up and went right from the store to the NRA range.

*I should note that this is my first gun, and I am not a pro at operation nor terminology*

The guy at the store took the gun apart to give it a quick inspection and oiled the appropriate parts. I picked up a box of cheap ammo. I do not recall the brand, but it was a white box of 50 with blue writing and cost about $13. The bullets were 180g copper colored FMJ

I got to the range and took some time to read the manual and familiarize myself with the pistol. Finally I loaded up both clips, sent my target down range and was ready to begin. First shot was dead on target and hit the red center dot.

My 3rd shot FTE and jammed. It took me about 20mins to figure out how to get the stuck shell out.

In all, I shot 36 rounds and had 5 FTE. I had one fail to fire after pulling the trigger. After resetting the trigger and pulling it again, the round did shoot.

What should I do? I know this is supposed to be a very reliable gun, so something must be wrong. I have not taken my magazines apart to check the springs, but it is pretty difficult to get the 12th round in, so I am assuming it is the correct spring. I will try to find the thread that explains how to take them apart and check though.

What should the back end of a spent round look like? I guess I was expecting a single round impression directly in the center of the primer. I am pretty sure I was looking at my own round, but there was kind of this vertical line that went from about the center of the primer to the edge, and then up on the brass a little bit. Is this normal?

Thanks,

-Seraphi

2. Syntax360

Syntax360 Premium Member

Couple of things...

1) Did the pistol come from CDNN or Davidsons, or was it something your dealer just had in stock?