OPEN CARY OR CONCEALED CARRY

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by ZEEK, Jun 21, 2006.

1. ZEEK

ZEEK New Member

I was just wandering what everyone's thoughts were on open carry vs. concealed carry. I know I prefer to carry cc, but like oc law. I was reading an article in a gun magazine, don't recall which one, but it was about Vermon'ts open carry law and I did not see any crime statistics on their violent crime rates with the oc vs. cc.

I know states vary with licenses. TN has a handgun carry permit, can cary either way, but cc is recommended. Any one know if it has shown to make a difference between oc or cc?

2. Shooter

Shooter Premium Member

The thought that someone may be armed might make a BG think twice about attacking someone. If you can see the gun, then the BG can go find a target that isn't obviously carrying a weapon. I'll take the concealed version.

3. hedrok

hedrok Member

I am not a lawyer and some of the terms may not be exactly correct....but they're close. Ohio is an "open carry" and "CCW" state with the appropriate permit. In some areas, you could open carry...but in most more heavily populated areas, according to many LEOs that I have talked to, you would be arrested almost immediately for "menacing, inciting riot, inducing panic, public disturbance, " and any other term that might define creating a PITA for local LEO....they have enough aggravation to deal without someone trying to make a point that they "can and therefore they will carry a gun in public" regardless of how much of a fuss it creates. It just seems to me to be a better plan for all concerned to, as they say in poker, keep your hole cards buried until showdown time. I really like low profile......just my .02.

4. Syntax360

Syntax360 Moderator