newbie needing help!

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by nayr, Oct 26, 2007.

1. nayr

nayr Guest

Im a newbie at this new hobby so bare with me. :?:

Ok i just got my m40a1 today and would like to know if you guys can tell me where and what site i can watch how to field strip my m40-a1. im kinda stuck after sliding the disassembling lever... and i dont want to cause any kind of damage to it. i asked the gun store (turners) if they can demonstrate how to field strip it, unfortunately their policy prohibits it and they dont want to be liable for any kind of damage they might cause....

any help would be appreciated. thanks

2. butch_d

butch_d New Member

Click the Home button on the top of the page, you'll see a section on tutorials.

I'm sure you'll learn a thing or two. :wink:

3. nayr

nayr Guest

thanks for the help butch... ill check it out right now.

4. nayr

nayr Guest

ok this is cool, after some more reading and with butch's help i was able to finally field strip my m40-a1... all i need now is some ammo and off to the shooting range i go... cant wait till tomorrow yahoooo :D :)

5. Wulf

Wulf Premium Member

Howdy, nayr :)

And welcome to The Club :). Just a reminder about field strippin' your Steyr M or S Series auto loading pistol:

Always make sure that your autoloader is empty before pulling the trigger to decock it for the take down, and always make sure that you've decocked it before engaging the takedown lever and removing the slide from the grip frame. :shock:

It may seem lika little thing, but this is the first step for a very good reason when performing the Steyr M and S Series disassembly. If ya engage the takedown lever and remove the slide from the grip frame when your M or S Series is cocked, your reassembly will present a problem for ya, but that's another story. ;) Be safe and have fun and let us know how it goes at the range. :p

Wulf <-- hopin' not to sound condescending

6. nayr

nayr Guest