New with a M40-A1 .... questions

Discussion in 'New Member Check-In' started by alex, Sep 12, 2007.

1. alex

alex Guest

Hi,
    I am new to Steyr M40-A1 but not new in shooting sport. I have been in this sport for 30 years and have many different type of actions. I can't quite figure out what exactly the type of action this Steyr has. My understanding was a traditional double action revolver or pistol allows you to pull the trigger all the way through to cock and fire the gun in one continuous motion. Or you can cock the gun first then pull the trigger to fire it. Single action revolver or pistol can only fire after you cock the hammer or striker first then pull the trigger. Double action only pistol can only be fired by one continuous pull of the trigger all the way through and its hammer or striker stay "down" after the gun discharges, and can't be cocked by the rearward motion of the slide or your thumb.
    Question 1:
    The M40-A1's action doesn't seem to agree with traditional or double action only type configurations. I can't pull the trigger all the way through to fire the gun. The gun must first be "cocked" by moving the slide at least half an inch rearward to set or reset the trigger. If I have a bad primer I can't strike it the second time just by pulling the trigger again. I need to work the slide carefully rearward for half an inch to "re-cock" in order to try firing again on the bad round. It almost seems as the M40-A1 is a single action action pistol. Each time the slide goes reaward the striker is cocked. Pulling the trigger release the striker to fire the gun. The rearward motion of the slide resets the trigger and cocks the striker. If this is true as long as there is a round in the chamber the gun is "cocked". I don't see how one can "decock" the striker to put the gun in the safest possible standby.
    Question 2:
    If there a plug available for this pistol to close off the hole on the bottom of the grip?
    Question 3: