Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
So I'm new to the Steyr world. I think the designs are really neat. I've been thinking about a 40SW as with the current craziness I have a hard time finding 9mm and 45ACP but 40SW is everywhere. A local LGS has a Stey M40-A1 with SOM date code, so 2005? Gun is in good shape and comes with two mags for $400. In doing some research I saw that in 2010 some improvements were made to the trigger. Is it worth trying to find a new M40-A1 for these improvements or should I go with what I can get easily?

Thanks,
-TR

·
Registered
240 Posts
Not a bad price for a 2005 M40-A1. I'm not a .40 owner but I have noticed ammo is available locally where 9mm and .45ACP isn't.

·
Premium Member
2,473 Posts
Welcome to the SteyrClub!

You got a good deal. If the weapon is clean, and undamaged, you can get almost the same trigger pull as the new ones with a little careful polishing of some non-critical surfaces. There are excellent tutorials here in the Downloads section to help. If DIY isn't your thing, then maybe investing a little more for a newer (post 2010) M40-A1 might be better.

·
Registered
632 Posts
It's a good time to have a 40 or 357sig.

I'm pretty short on 9mm ammo. =\

Good to go on the glock 20 though.

·
Registered
632 Posts
BTW,

Welcome To Steyr Club.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Not a bad price for a 2005 M40-A1. I'm not a .40 owner but I have noticed ammo is available locally where 9mm and .45ACP isn't.
I have an M40 (just purchased to replace my previous one, which I sold) and have been shooting .40 for some time. I like the .40 as a defensive round, slightly hotter than 9mm on the recoil, but controllable. I am betting that the .40 will be the next to go crazy as the 9mm dries up in today's market.

·
Registered
211 Posts