Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone- I'm soon to join the Steyr (hopefully happy) owners club. I just purchased an S9-A1 and it should be arriving any day now. Had to search high and low with the current craze- but finally located one at a Cabelas in West Virginia. Luckily they were nice enough to sell and ship me a gun that I've never seen/held... I guess people do that all the time.

As for me, I'm new to Steyr but not exactly new to weapons in general. I was a Marine PMI, teaching teufelshuden and squids how to shoot and qualify with the M9, M-16, the MP5 and finally the M4. Then I headed over to state where my T/E was a Sig, an Uzi, and a trusty Remington 870. I'm a civvie now and while I try to explain my interest in firearms to my wife who, being a law abiding citizen from Chicago, has never been around guns, she just doesn't get it.

Anyway, having sifted through many of the posts on the website I'm looking forward to getting my S9-A1 and doing some research on the serial number to find out what sort of problems (and corrections) I'm in for. Any advice would certainly help out.

Thanks,
TM

·
Premium Member
1,664 Posts
Hiya TM :)

Welcome ta The Club, Bro! :thumbsup:

When ya get 'er in yer hands, do a field strip an' clean 'er all up an' lube 'er with a nice light coat o' CLP on the workin' surfaces.

I know ya don't gotta, but I usually do a 5-rd break in...shoot 1 round then clean the bbl...shoot another round then clean the bbl...total o' 5 times. And, these pistols were made to chew-thru 124 gr 9MM NATO specs FMJ ammo, according to the manufacturer.

Call 'er broke in, an commence ta get yer 300-500 rounds "good-ta-go for reliability" stamp of approval. :thumbsup:

Hey, an' let us know how you're gettin' on.

Take care, Bro. :D

Wulf <-- interested in seein' how our new sharp-shootin' Bro from TX does with a M9-A1 on paper. :popcorn:

·
Registered
13 Posts