Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to pistol shooting and recently purchased a NIB M9-A1, it is one of the nicest pistols I have had the pleasure to shoot. I'm having some FTE issues and was hoping to learn from the folks with the knowledge how to resolve my issues.

Glock 17
STI GP-6C 9mm
S&W M&P 9mm
Springfield XD 9
Walther SP22 M4

·
Premium Member
1,664 Posts
Hiya okee* :)

Welcome ta the Club, Bro.

First, carefully inspect your mag followers. In the past, there has been issues w/ the wrong follower in the factory mags. There were some m40/m357 followers installed in place of the m9 followers. There's a thread all about it somewhere. <shrug>

And, of course, the first thing ya do when ya get onna these babies is tear it down and do a great cleaning and a light lubing.

Then hit the range w/ some good ammo. Walmart sells the Winchester Whitebox 115 gr FMJ's and that's good enuf for practice, til ya got 'er all broke in, IMHO.

If the FTE's persist, then I'd make sure ya got the latest/greatest extractor.

Does your new M9-A1 gotta Loaded Chamber Indicator (LCI)? Does it gotta roll pin at the back of the slide?

That'd let ya know ya got the latest "NIB M*-A1", with the latest extractor.

Whatever happens, just know that Jeff Reece at SAI has your back and reliability is inevitable...or get rid o' the f**ker. <shrug>

G'luck, Bro and keep us in the loop. :thumbsup:

Wulf <-- back ta burnin' 'is latest business cards *sigh*

·
Registered
26 Posts
I'm having some FTE issues and was hoping to learn from the folks with the knowledge how to resolve my issues.
I'll run down my list of things that I've attributed to my few FTE, things to look out for after you've checked what Wulf mentioned: