New Member from Vancouver Canada

Discussion in 'New Member Check-In' started by deighton1974, Jan 21, 2013.

1. deighton1974

deighton1974 New Member

Hi

I am new to the Steyr pistols. I am just wondering if any one can help me?. I have had a M9 A1 for about 2 months now and the only ammo it seems to like is American Eagle all other brands I use give me multiple FTE. Is this normal it's had about 1000 rounds run through it. Love the gun the way it fits my hand and how accurate it is, but this is becoming an issue, owned 2 other pistols and they ate anything I put through them. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

2. jhb

jhb Member

Welcome to the club.

No, not normal with a round count that high and still have lots of fte's. Does your m9 have the newest ejector?

When you say multiple failures, what does that mean? 1 in 10 or 1 in 20, or.....?

Is the american eagle 124 gr or 147, and the other brands that fail 115gr? Basically anything obvious that stands out?

Very frustrating having one brand work and others not. I see often people say theirgun doesn't like x brand ammo and I want my pistols to shoot any brand if its within cip or sami spec. The good news is worst case scenario steyr should be able to fix it if you hit a dead end.

3. deighton1974

deighton1974 New Member

Hi
    Thanks for getting back to me. I shot 115gr with A&E and try to shoot the same with other brands, but have tried all grains with the same issues, not sure of the year of manufacture, it doesn't have the loaded chamber indicator or manual safety. As to your other question it can be as high as 2 or 3 every ten rounds other times I can go through a box before any problems, went out today all I could pick up was cheap norinco stuff and every other round 5 out of 10 were FTE's, guy shooting next to me ran some through his glock apart from one bad primmer no problems.
    Thanks

4. jhb

jhb Member

Understood.