New M9A1 Owner - Thoughts so far and a few grins...

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by buckhammer, Aug 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. buckhammer

buckhammer New Member

Hello everyone,
    I'm a new Steyr owner and new to the club. I just purchased an M9A1 in OD green and wanted to post my experience with it so far. I'm an 01 dealer and run a small one man gunsmith shop in my spare time just for fun...and occasional aggravation! I have no experience with Steyr with the exception of some almost century old Steyr M95s rifles in my collection. I agree that product support seems very lacking which is unfortunate as, so far, this appears to be an excellent design. It's slightly more complex than a Glock but I believe it is superior from both an engineering and manufacturing standpoint. From what I've researched it appears the earlier reliability issues have been worked out with this 4th generation. I got my pistol only because I transferred one for a customer recently and really liked it. Anyway, here's my take on the M9A1. I love it so far. I'm a southpaw so I swapped the magazine release to the right side right out of the box. No mention of this capability in the manual or guidance on how to change it over. So I just jumped in and swapped it; which was very straightforward. One observation I've made is that several gun reviewers have stated the slide will not close on an empty mag without removing the mag and they were unsure if this was a design feature, flaw, or break-in issue. I believe this is a design feature (one I don't like) based on the amount of interface between the breech face and the mag follower. The left-only slide release is the only other down-side so far but it is easily to actuate. This is more of a nuisance than anything else since I don't use the slide release except for administrative handling. Reliability is 100% so far and fortunately I haven't had any recent multi-mag shootouts with any "gangstas"; although I've noticed a group of very sus