My first Kydex attempt

Discussion in 'Holsters' started by heavymetalmachine, Oct 22, 2007.

1. heavymetalmachine

heavymetalmachine New Member

So I thought I would give making a holster a try. I have received some great stuff from Rich for my Steyr I thought I would do something for my RIA..

So here it is my first attempt . Please try not to laugh to hard :lol:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I had to cut and dye the leather. Note to self wear rubber gloves while dying :wink:

Was a huge learning curve I hope the next one is better..

Well off to make another :shock:

2. Netfotoj

Netfotoj Premium Member

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And if you be holdin' your very own handmade holster, I bet it gets a lot better lookin' each time you behold it!

And function trumps form every time in my book. If she holds that hogleg of a 1911 RIA, she's done her job alrite.

And I bet you learned several ways that won't work that can be applied to the next effort.

Some idiot asked Thomas Edison if he felt like a failure because of his 740 failed light bulbs that didn't light. He replied "No. I just ruled out 740 ways that wouldn't work before I found the one that did work."

So keep on keeping on. Winners never quit and quitters never win. :mrgreen:

3. luvmy40

luvmy40 Member

Heith,
    Looks great! makes my first attempt look like a joke!
    I made a form from a piece of aluminum coil stock for the belt clip tabs.
    Sorry about the lousy pics, my kids absconded with my good camera and I haven't had the time to track it down.

Any way, I form the clip around a wood blank then put the aluminum form in place and reheat the tab end with a heat gun. Then I use the putty knife to push the Kydex into the channel.

I don't mean to hijack the thread but you should keep making "stuff" and I know that I appreciated all the pointers that I got when I started out.

Rich

BTW the clip in the pic is a CTAC clip, I didn't have any of mine handy.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. Wulf