Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

New to the forum, this being my first post.

I'm currently a resident of Michigan, although we're soon moving to Florida (in the next month or so).

I have been looking for a while into getting an M9A1 for my CC. In Michigan this wouldn't be a problem for EDC/CC as all the extra clothing makes it easy to keep it concealed. However moving to Florida, with thick blood I expect to be wearing less clothing when out and about.

What I'd like to know is: of the people on the forum, who are in Florida and whose EDC is a Steyr; which do you use for your CC?
Does anyone use the M or the C? Or is the S the only option for CC?

All this asked notwithstanding the fact that I'll need to resit my CC classes after I get my Florida driver's licence, so it might be a while before I buy... Unless I buy it before we move in the next 4 weeks.

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
5,073 Posts
This comes up a lot and I'm sure you'll get all the same answers. You can CC a M-A1 just fine so long as you have a good holster and a good belt (seriously, don't skimp on the belt). I carried a M9A1 for at least 6 years here in Dallas/Fort Worth - I dress like a regular [boring] white guy in clothes that fit properly. The S-A1 series pistol will conceal easier because the grip is smaller - grip size is just about all you need to concern yourself with for carry.

My advice would be to start with the M-A1 - if it's unbearable, you have an excuse to get a S-A1 to compliment it. If you just love the M-A1 and have no trouble carrying it, you'll be dying to get another Steyr and will have an excuse to get a S-A1 to compliment it. :D Either way, cut your teeth on the larger gun and you will appreciate the smaller gun all the more later.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Syntax,
Thanks for your reply.