Lookin at Steyr

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by xjrat, Nov 18, 2006.

1. xjrat

xjrat Premium Member

My wife and I are in the market for a handgun. It will be our first. We have 2 rifles and a collectible Colt .38 revolver that doesn't get used much. I have a lot of shooting experience with rifles and pretty good with other handguns. But it has been awhile since I have been able to shoot newer ones. My wife has some rifle experience (M16's She's in the Air National Guard) but only one time with a handgun.
    This new gun will have to be an all around gun because it has taken me a while to save up for it, so it will be awhile before I can get another one.
    I am interested in the Steyr M-A1 in .40 I have read about them. I held one at a gun show but that is it. I want to shoot one but don't know if I will be able to before I buy. I haven't had a chance to get the wife to hold it yet so I am not sure about that aspect yet. I like the ergonomics and the feel of it I even like the sites. I need info from you guys about Steyr or what would be equivalent.
    I do have a few concerns though.
    1. My wife is small at only 5' she also has small hands. So will that be to much for her(I don't like 9mm, I would rather have .45 but I know that is out of the question). I want her to enjoy shooting as well.
    2. Reliability, Is the parts and service good. Will it last a long time How many rounds in its life. As everyone says about GLOCK you can drop it in the mud, run it over, strap dynamite to it and blow it up and it will still shoot.
    3. After market, are there accessories readily available? I like the idea of the .22lr conversion for the glock to be able to shoot inexpensive rounds just for targets. ( My wife got to shoot one like that and loved it).
    Thanks

2. N24RE

N24RE Member

1) If she can shoot an M16 she can shoot the Steyr no problem, my wife does. Also getting the Hogue slip on grip will help relieve the shock.