Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after about two years of research and trips to the range trying different autos, I found the M9-A1. I took my time since this was my first gun purchase. I picked one up at Cabela's (although it's an M9-A1 the slide says M9)last week, cleaned it, and then put 100 rounds through it. I had two FTEs in the first hundred rounds. From reading this forum and watching some videos on YouTube, I know that these guns unfortunately have historically had problems with FTEs. I thought though that I might be able to avoid this this since most of the posts I read about FTEs were from 2011 and older.

My question is this: could the FTEs simply be attributed to the gun needing to be "broken in"? If so how long is the break in period usually?

I'm glad that this forum is available as I'm a total noob and it seems like there is an enormous wealth of knowledge from the members here. Thanks in advance for all the help!

·
Premium Member
2,473 Posts
Welcome to the SteyrClub!

Break-in is usually about 600 rounds, however the FTEs can be caused by the extractor, or more frequently, the ammo itself. Winchester White Box, Speer Lawman, Federal, and Wolf steel case all seem to run well. Try a 124 grain bullet rather than the 115 gr, many have reported here that the weapon does well with that bullet weight. Stay away from Remington UMC, S&B, Herter, and any brand X.

As far as the extractor is concerned, the real fix is the insertion of a piece of 1911 safety/stop plunger spring, equal in length to the standard plunger spring, inside the existing plunger spring. Download the Big Taco tutorial from the Downloads section of this site, to see how to remove the extractor. Do all the work holding the slide inside a clean kitchen garbage bag to prevent flying parts from getting away - ask me how I know...

Enjoy your weapon!

·
Registered
142 Posts