Steyr Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, new to the forum. I had read about the "hybrid" M9 9mm Steyr at Cabelas on this forum after I had already purchased one ($379.99)on 12/28, (not knowing the particulars). I must admit I was somewhat beside myself that I had not done a better job of researching what I was purchasing, but hindsight is 20/20. I went to the range that afternoon to see how the weapon behaved (75 rounds, 50 FMJ and 25 Federal HP) and I have to admit I was very pleased. No FTE's or FTF's, and I love the ergonomics. Believe it or not I went and bought another (for the spouse)the next day (after much deliberation) from Cabela's. For all I know it may be foolish, but the second one did as well as the first. If they continue to operate as they have I will more than likely purchase a M40-A1 in the next month or so.

I am a newbie with Steyr pistol ownership (I have known they make excellent weapons, but I have had Springfield XD .40 and .45 for quite a while). If anyone has suggestions, or advice, I would like to hear them.

Thanks

·
Registered
1 Posts
Glad to hear this as i purchased one too although i did do some research and everything i have read was pretty good i dont see why they would be bad its all steyr parts just new and old mix and from what i read its like a gen 3 heres where i got my info http://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/2012/03/joe-grine/gun-review-steyr-m9a1/ havnt got it yet lived out of state so waiting on shipping got my from dundee michigan

·
Registered
632 Posts
The PW Arms ones are fine most of the time.

They just get fussy on occasions.

I think the consensus on them is that your more likely to have issues out of the box.

If they are running fine now, your good to go.

You can correct the issues usually if they have them. There are members here who have them.

·
Registered
632 Posts
Annnnnd.

Welcome to Steyr club.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5