How do you adjust the side to side on the M40-A1?

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by Guest, Dec 19, 2006.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hello,
    I am new to the Steyr club and only shot my new M40-A1 for the first time yesterday. It appears as though it is shooting consistently about 3 inches left at 15 to 20 feet. Is there any way to adjust the side to side sights?? Any answers would be appreciated as I am suppposed to qualify with this beautiful weapon later this week.

Thanks for any help! Also, if anyone is still looking for a Police Duty Holster, Desantis makes a really nice Nylon High ride duty holster.

Bob

2. MrApathy

MrApathy Active Member

first make absolute sure its not you that causes the shots to go anywhere but center. then check the front and rear sight and determine which one is off. use a pin punch and mallet or hammer. slow easy taps and check the alignment.

bore laser may help

welcome to the club

3. Guest

Guest Guest

OK. I'll try that!

Thanks,

I am going to put a hundred more rounds through it tomorrow just to make sure. I am fairly confident though, as I typically do not have problems with my Glock and just qualified with it in October. It is already sold, and good riddens. I'm like a kid in a candy store with my new Steyr.

Bob

4. SELFDEFENSE

SELFDEFENSE Premium Member

Send some rounds from a bench or other supported position first to verify the sight alignment problem

5. madecov

madecov Active Member

Out of all the Steyr's I've handled I have never seen one with the sights being off.

I would definatly practice some more and shoot from a rest. If you have any friends who are experienced shooters let them try it and see if the results are the same.

6. olli9022

olli9022 Steyr Mannlicher Representative

I'm quite sure you were a Glock shooter, aren't you?
    Every Glock shooter shoots a few inches to the side - simply because they are used to the Glock trigger. Normally a STEYR pistol shoots straight were you aim....