Steyr Club Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just joined here. I’ve been shooting my beloved Steyrs for about six years now. They are the best guns that no one in the US has ever heard of. Occasionally I’ll see someone with a Steyr at the range and we will start talking. They are instantly recognizable. I have both the M9A1 and the M40A1. There are some of my favorite guns and anyone who’s ever shot them walks away feeling a little bit crappier about their Glock‘s ;-)

I have a problem that i’ve been unable to solve for quite a while.

My M9A1 has two 17 rnd mags. I also have a 10 round magazine but it’s too short to fit in the gun. It looks like it’s a California magazine but it doesn’t have the floor plate. The one that’s like an inch high that allows it to fit in the full size M9.

i’ve been looking everywhere to buy a “California floorplate” but I haven’t been able to find one and perhaps I’m using the wrong word to describe what need.

does anyone here know what I’m talking about and where I can find one?

‘thanks

·
Super Moderator
254 Posts
I’ve always just called them base plates, but outside of calling up Steyr directly or seeing if a Steyr armorer can order one from Steyr I am not sure I have seen anything. There use to be some plus 2 base plates around but those were 3D printed and I haven’t seen any in a long time. Maybe others have better information but my normal go to for gun parts all come up empty on Steyr A1 pistols

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I’ve always just called them base plates, but outside of calling up Steyr directly or seeing if a Steyr armorer can order one from Steyr I am not sure I have seen anything. There use to be some plus 2 base plates around but those were 3D printed and I haven’t seen any in a long time. Maybe others have better information but my normal go to for gun parts all come up empty on Steyr A1 pistols