Steyr Club Forums banner
2K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  pjd393 
#1 · (Edited)
Back in '99 I went into my local gun shop in Michigan to buy my first pistol (heck, first gun period). Being an architect I was immediately drawn to the look of the Steyr over the sea of Glocks and Sigs. I immediately noticed the cant of the stock and the groove cut for the thumb and index finger and I could tell this was something different.

I told him I wanted THE safest and most reliable .40 cal for home defense. He walked over and pulled out the Steyr M40 and the rest was history.

I have probably only put 400 rounds through it (I know, I know ...) but mostly because I didn't have anyone to go to the range with and I live in suburban areas (country would be nice).

I recently became excited again which lead me here! After doing research and watching B.T.'s OUTSTANDING videos of part installs and breaking the gun down for replacing parts (I have always kept it very clean and I clean it yearly just to keep it happy) I ordered a few accessories.

- Grip plug
- Glide Rite bushings
- Lee Spring (excited to feel that).

I have my eye on the Captured Rod but I don't think I have put enough rounds through it to justify it yet. Any thoughts on that are welcome! I may just buy one to have as I'm committed to this pistol for life more than likely.

I then ordered the Picatinny adapter from Steyrarms.com and just ordered a Viridian C5L! I have spent hours researching holsters. I know I'm somewhat screwed using this pic adapter + C5L but I was hoping I could use a Blade-Tech possibly for a Glock or another set up that might work (ANY thoughts on this are GREATLY appreciated). I'm also going to try the inter tube grip mod. If that doesn't work I'll get the Hogue Tools Handall Tool Grip (best set up)? I might try the small first (if I can get it on) using ammonia as I have smaller hands.