First Pistol Comps Coming Up

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting' started by jwl3715, Mar 23, 2012.

1. jwl3715

jwl3715 New Member

Going to use my M40A1 in an IDPA clinic at local range and then usein competition to follow in April. Also going to try a GSSF match with my G31. I am totally new to pistol comp don't have the depth of experience with pistils that I have with rifles. Any of you seasoned competitors out there have any advice or practice tips for a newbie like me?

2. blueorison

blueorison Member

1. Have fun. This is the most important thing to do, besides the obvious and unspoken BE SAFE. Don't break the 180. However, if you're new, if you're the worrying engineer overstressed type, then nothing can help. But if you're not, have fun!

2. Take your time. At your OWN pace. No matter what advice is given to go at your own pace, most guys always try to emulate the other competitors that are faster. Don't go fast if you're new unless it's YOUR pace. I've had to DQ people because they tried to be someone they weren't and swept the crowd with a loaded handgun (pointed the gun at everyone, basically killing them).

3. Learn from others. Go talk to the nice guys. There will be wannabe tactical guys that might be nice (doubt it, they're too busy being wannabes), but I would stay away from them. Talk to the chill older guys that have been shooting, designing stages, and directing matches. They will tell you what is up and what matters and what doesn't. Most of the stuff you worry about doesn't matter.

4. Watch your sights. Point shooting is fun, but not practical.