First handgun(s), need some advice!

Discussion in 'Anything Else' started by smores, Oct 4, 2006.

Which combo should I go with?

1. Steyr M-A1 & Walther P22

83.3%
  2. Glock 32 & .22 LR conversion kit

16.7%
  1. smores

smores Guest

Ok, I have some experience shooting, I was in the Army Reserve for a little bit (including ROTC in college). I currently own a Maverick 88 shotgun with 18.5" barrel for home defense.

My birthday is on Nov. 18th, and I will FINALLY be 21 years old. I plan to go down to the shop, order me up a pistol, then go out to get drunk with my friends, co-workers, family etc over the next week until the MD 7-day waiting period is up and I can take my new baby to the range!

Now that I've got all the details planned out, it's time to get to the crux of this thread. Which pistol(s) to choose? The reason I say pistol(s), is because I want a larger-caliber gun (.40 S&W or .357 SIG), yet I want to shoot frequently without going broke, so I want the capability to shoot .22 LR in mass quantities.

I have been a Glock fan forever, and I have been a collector of Airsoft guns (and obviously a player in that sport) so I have a couple Glocks already. I know the feel of the Glock 18C and the Glock 32, so I know the difference between full-frame and compact glocks. I like the compact ones better, and I've fired the 32 at my local range. I was very impressed with my ability to fire .357 SIG, I was able to place shots on the Glock 32 better than I could with a 9mm SIG P226. The Glocks have been around forever, and are proven to be rock-solid reliable. There are also .22 LR conversion kits available for around $200.