Dan Wesson RZ-10

Discussion in 'Other Handguns' started by breechplug, Jan 12, 2007.

1. breechplug

breechplug Guest

I'm thinking of making the RZ-10 my next addition to the collection, anyone have any experience with them? Thanks, Craig. 8-O

2. Netfotoj

Netfotoj Premium Member

Welcome to 10mm

I have no personal experience with DWs in general or this gun in particular, but my S&W 1076 10mm is my favorite handgun, though my M357-A1 is gaining fast on the outside rail.

The S&W 1076 was chosen by the FBI as it's new carry gun in 1990 after extensive tests found 10mm to be their best choice of upgrade from 9mm.

But when the FBI abandoned 10mm in 1995, the bottom dropped out of demand and almost all manufacturers stopped making 10mm pistols.

10mm is an awesome cartridge and I'm sure the Dan Wesson products are high quality so I don't see how you could do wrong. As far as choices in 10mm, it's probably the top of the pile. Choices are largely limited, in new guns, to Glock, DW and EAA Witness. Glocks are good quality as I'm sure you know, but from what I've read about the low-priced EAA Witness guns you get what you pay for, or maybe a little less.

Finding one of the S&W long-discontinued 10mms is a hit or miss proposition, mostly miss, but if you find one in good shape, IMHO they're on a level with DW or even a shade higher. My 1076 was almost NIB when I bought it in 2001 and is still tight as a tick and tack-driving accurate.

And the 10mm round is faster and more powerful than .45 ACP or .357 Magnum. Many manufacturer's loads are tamed down from the full capacity of the cartridge, making it just a shade above .40 S&W, the more popular round which is derived by cutting down 10mm shell casings.