break-in ammo

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by xjrat, Nov 24, 2006.

1. xjrat

xjrat Premium Member

Since I am new to handguns and especially Steyr what would be a good break-in ammo? I am not to familiar with the different types of ammo, I grew up just buying what was cheapest for my .22 rifle so with ALL the choices for my new m40 a1 I want a good break-in ammo. When ever I rent a gun at the range I just use their ammo, should I just use their ammo? How many rounds should I expect to put through it for a break-in as well?
    Also what is a good home self defense ammo for a small apartment?
    Frangable, Hollowpoint etc...

2. SELFDEFENSE

SELFDEFENSE Premium Member

For inexpensive practice ammo I have used CCI Blazer, American Eagle (not American ammo), Winchester white box, Fiocchi, and Sellier&Bellot. Also, you need to run a decent amount of any JHP ammo you are going to use for selfdefense to test for reliability.
    Break-in is usually around 500 rounds.
    Good luck.

3. xjrat

xjrat Premium Member

JHP ammo??? I am bad at acronyms, my wife is an the Air National Guard and is ALWAYS using them and I just nod my head and agree and say YES DEAR!

4. xjrat

xjrat Premium Member

UHH never mind I got it Jacked Hallow Point right! :?

5. Shooter

Shooter Premium Member

An added note, use your break-in ammo before the hollow points. Once the gun is broken in you can test your Self D ammo and make your decision............It might not work well before the break-in period and you'll have to do it all over again.........$$$$$$$$$$$$

6. Syntax360

Syntax360 Premium Member

Frangible is junk - don't expect more than a few inches of penetration in a person. If they stop after you shoot them, it's only because they want to - frangible will NOT penetrate deep enough to hit the vitals and force a stop. Stick to JHP. Search on any gun forum and you will find tons of threads bashing frangibles for defense.