AUG Z's

Discussion in 'AUG, MSAR' started by Polymer Proselyte, Nov 18, 2007.

1. Polymer Proselyte

Polymer Proselyte New Member

[​IMG]

A local dude is looking to import these. Has anyone had any experience with them?

2. babj615

babj615 Premium Member

No, But I think I want one!!!!

3. Netfotoj

Netfotoj Premium Member

[​IMG]

I'm no expert, but it sure looks like a genuine Aug to me! Got the bottom photo off Steyr-Mannlicher.com.

Latest model listed there is the Aug A3, pictured. Never heard of Aug Z. Dare I hope I can afford it? Probably not. :(

4. Polymer Proselyte

If I hear what the price is I'll get back to you. Bare in mind this will be in NZ dollars (3rd rank in Steyr Price Olympics), so very likely to cost more than 23 goats, 6 chickens, and a pig.

The government might be a bit iffy about letting them in due to the number of ex-army Steyr mags in circulation, but this is just pure speculation on my part.

5. BulletBait

BulletBait New Member

Considered the #1 5.56mm assault rifle.
    If you can find and afford one, get it.

6. olli9022

olli9022 Steyr Mannlicher Representative

Hey Guy's,
    the AUG Z rifle (Z=Zivil; german for CIVILIAN) was mainly manufactured for the civlilan Home Market of STEYR MANNLICHER, Austria.
    It is the semi auto version of the AUG A2; however the Austrian Firearms Laws required some modification for the civilian market:
    - the barrel does not have a flash hider
    - the barrel is manufacured without the "cooling rings" on the surface
    - the quick release button for changing the barrel in seconds was changed; so you have to use a screwdriver to take the barrel out
    - no main parts of the original fully auto rifle will fit the AUG Z (bolt, receiver.....).
    However, all original AUG Magazines will fit (10, 20, 30 and 42 rounds). ALso the original optic from the A2 can be installed
    It is only available in black colour.

7. nixon

nixon Member