Any pro shooters use the Steyr?

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting' started by tenchu74, Feb 3, 2016.

1. tenchu74

tenchu74 Member

I was curious if any professional/Top Tier shooters in some of the more popular disciplines like 3gun, USPSA or IDPA use a Steyr pistol?

If not, why?

I would think the Steyr's attributes like low bore axis, great out of the box trigger and comfortable grip would be desirable in a competition pistol.

2. G-Man

G-Man Member

So the short answer to that is not that I am aware of. I started shooting competitively in IDPA matches using my Steyr's last year. I know of about 6 guys that shoot Steyr pistols in IDPA but they are far and few between. I can't speak for the other disciplines but in IDPA there aren't any top tier guys shooting Steyr. At the World Championship last year there were only 2 of us out of somewhere in the neighborhood of 475 shooters, and I finished 13 out of 45 in the Sharpshooter class. So, far from the top level, however I plan to change some of that this year.

All that being said it is a great competition pistol. It is a fast gun with the low bore axis, quick reset on the trigger, and the trap sights are really quick once you get used to them. The one drawback is the narrow magwell. Takes more concentration than on most pistols to make quick reloads. But honestly something I am willing to deal with.

3. Philipp1

Philipp1 New Member