1st time shooting M-40 and she jammed 6/150!!!!

Discussion in 'M, C, L and S Series' started by mauifreediver, Oct 13, 2012.

1. mauifreediver

mauifreediver New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to the steyr world and just recently to her to the range. I bought reloads that looked super clean,but the Steyr just did not like them. The casing weren't totally ejecting and I had to pull the unfired round that was butted up to the shell. Scary stuff!! I'm also very new to shooting so excuse my terminology of trying to describe the issue. I tried all three mags, and same thing happened with them all. I did shoot new bullets (50 rounds) with not a jam. Why do these guns not like reloads. My friend was shooting the same reloads from his HK and had no jam at all. Can y'all help me with this issue. I really want to shoot, but cant afford new bullets every time. Any suggestion would be appreciated. Mahalo!!!

2. Talyn

Talyn New Member

new guns can be fussy on reloads.
    thats really as simple as it can be.

Guns are like cars, they have a break in period.

You'll hear people brag that their gun never needed a break in, but they are lieing most of the time.

Get a few hundred rounds though it then try the reloads again.

Once the ...

okay, well my brain is broke and I cannot think of the correct terms at the moment.

Reverting to dummy talk.

Once the part of the barrel where the bullets go into to fire is broke in, it will be less fussy about it.
    its like when you buy something new and its a bit stiff till it has been used a bit?
    Yeah, like that.

Like a motor with fresh cross cut in the cylinders.

3. 73sbVert

73sbVert Member

Feed ramp. ;)

:leaving:

4. MrApathy

MrApathy Active Member

general rule to only shoot your own reloads. steyr is not picky
    I would chalk it up to some bad reloads. I shot many many thousands of reloads