Quantcast
.40 Cal Review & Decision
Steyr Club - Powered by vBulletin

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default .40 Cal Review & Decision

Looking to buy a good .40 cal pistol. Have narrowed down to Glock 22/22c; Jericho/baby eagle; Steyr M40-A1. I have a Steyr GB and love it! Would like to buy another steyr, but am having difficulty justifying it over the other two pistols. Looking for personal experience, or links to good reviews. Thanks.

Default Re: .40 Cal Review & Decision

even glock fans will concede that the unsupported chamber in the glock 40's is a disadvantage over other manufacturer's 40's that feature a fully supported chamber, which the steyr does.

i have no experience with the baby eagle but their followers seem to like them.

when you ask steyr owners, we're likely to say get the steyr.

SAI has top notch customer service which you're unlikely to ever use as the pistols are very good.

Over the years I've had Glocks in every caliber but .357SIG and although they've always been reliable,etc I've always found them lacking in ergonomics, never liked the chincy stock plastic sights, the trigger(regardless of polishing jobs or connectors) and the fact that it's polymer frame flexes like an unsupported garden hose during firing. The Steyr addresses each of these issues in a way that no other polymer frame auto has to date! I have an M9, not a .40 but I can tell you that I was curious about the Steyr for some time before I finally took the plunge. All I can say is that I wish I had jumped in LONG ago when they could be had easily and inexpensively! I've no experience with the Baby eagle, but you're comparing vastly different platforms once the Baby eagle enters the discussion. If Steyr ever offered an enlarged M for the 10mm cartridge, I'd trade my only Glocks in a heartbeat! You can still find new or like new Steyr for 400 or less and if Steyr doesnt decide to begin reimportation at some time in the future, these pistols will become a SOLID investment.